The AusIMM Education Endowment Fund

The AusIMM Education Endowment Fund (EEF) provides funding to a variety of educational initiatives to attract and support those studying within the minerals industry.


The EEF Trust Deed was formally created and signed on 22 February 1989. The purposes of the fund include the following:

  • fund research projects that may benefit the minerals industry
  • provide scholarships bursaries and other awards to tertiary students undertaking undergraduate or postgraduate study or research in relation to minerals relevant disciplines or courses
  • fund and provide lectures to persons involved in the minerals industry and students undertaking study in disciplines relating to the minerals industry
  • provide funding to universities for the purposes of running classes, seminars and other activities designed to promote the awareness of and interest in the minerals industry amongst secondary school students
  • provide funding to universities for the purpose of providing endowed professorships.

Current EEF Scholarships and Awards

The EEF has undertaken a variety of initiatives over the years. The most current are listed below:

The EEF Board of Trustees

The EEF Board of Trustees consists of prominent members of The AusIMM as well as industry representatives and the current AusIMM President.

The Trustees meet twice a year to discuss the fund, its initiatives and what might be utilised in the future to ensure the attraction and retention of bright individuals into the minerals industry.

The Board currently consists of the following:

  • Jared Osborne MAusIMM – Chair
  • Susie Corlett MAusIMM
  • Eduard Eshuys FAusIMM
  • Paul Espie FAusIMM
  • Bruce Hebblewhite MAusIMM
  • Sarah Wheeler MAusIMM
  • Colin Moorhead FAusIMM(CP) – AusIMM President