Awards for Academic Achievement

Recognising high achieving students in the minerals professions.

The Education Endowment Fund (EEF) Awards for Academic Achievement (AAA) are awarded annually to the student who achieves the highest annual examination results in each year of an AusIMM-recognised undergraduate course. The nominations for the 2017 academic year are now open for Heads of Department from all recognised courses.

All Universities that have an AusIMM recognised course are encouraged to submit a nomination form to the Education Endowment Fund for their students by Friday 20 April 2018.

The nomination form can be found here.

Winners of the AusIMM EEF AAA receive a certificate and membership of the AusIMM.

The highest achieving student from each recognised course also receives the 'JT Woodcock Book Prize' consisting of an AusIMM publication which commemorates J T Woodcock AM HonFAusIMM.

Jim Woodcock was a leader in metallurgical research at CSIRO and was instrumental in the development and editing of a number of key AusIMM publications including Monographs 10 and 19. Jim joined The AusIMM as Student in 1943, became an Honorary Fellow in 1992 and was presented with The AusIMM President's Award in 1980.

For more information on the process of nomination and the prize awarded, please refer to the Operational Guidelines for the AAA or contact

Previous Winners

2016 academic year
2015 academic year
2014 academic year
2013 academic year
2012 academic year
2011 academic year
2010 academic year
2009 academic year

For further information please use the feedback form.