The AusIMM EEF Scholarship Program

AusIMM EEF scholarship applications are now open for the 2019 academic year. Scholarship applications for 2019 will close on 30 September 2018.

Applications are now open for undergraduate and postgraduate scholarships.

Apply for an EEF undergraduate scholarship.

Apply for an EEF postgraduate scholarship.

Further information on scholarship eligibility and selection criteria can be found in the operational guidelines.

View the Undergraduate operational guidelines.

View the Postgraduate operational guidelines.


  • Significant financial support during the course of your studies
  • Access to quality mentoring with an industry professional
  • Participation in a one-week intensive field trip to a mineral-rich region of Australia
  • Recognition and career-building opportunities
  • Development of personal and professional skills

The AusIMM EEF scholarship programs support students with:

  • A passion for the minerals industry
  • Strong leadership qualities
  • A proactive approach to personal and professional development

'The Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award provided fantastic opportunities to further my understanding of the Australian mining industry. The scholarship mentoring program in particular has been invaluable as I plan out the start of my career in mining.'
James Mitchell GAusIMM (2014 awardee)

For more information please email or phone +61 3 9658 6100.


2018 Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award

  • Keely Simpson-Bull, Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Mining), Monash University
  • Zachary Barnes, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining)/Bachelor of Commerce (Finance), University of New South Wales

2018 Education Endowment Fund Premium Scholarships Awardees

  • Alexandra Turner, Master of Professional Engineering (Mining), University of Western Australia
  • Anne-Sophie Parrod, Bachelor of Science (Earth Sciences), University of Newcastle
  • Ben Kimpton, Bachelor of Science (Geology, Geophysics and Applied Geology), University of Adelaide
  • Brooke North, Bachelor of Science (Mineral Geoscience), University of Adelaide
  • Cody Holman, Bachelor of Mining Engineering (Honours), Federation University
  • Courtney Dobson, Bachelor of Engineering (Chemical and Metallurgical), University of Queensland
  • Francois Theron, Bachelor of Mining Engineering/Bachelor of Commerce, Curtin University (WASM)
  • Jack Kent, Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Mining), University of Adelaide
  • Jake Andrijasevich, Master of Professional Engineering (Mining), University of Western Australia
  • Jamie Porter, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining), Curtin University (WASM)
  • Joseph Behan, Bachelor of Science (Geophysics)/Bachelor of Business (Human Resources Management), University of Tasmania
  • Patricia Wibisono, Bachelor of Engineering (Mining)/Bachelor of Commerce (Finance), University of New South Wales
  • Rachael Xu, Bachelor of Chemical Engineering (Honours)/Bachelor of Finance, University of Adelaide
  • Sophie Peterson, Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Mechanical), University of Wollongong

2017 EEF Premium Scholarship (continuing in 2018)

  • Ross Chandler, Bachelor of Geology, James Cook University
  • Fontae Franks, Bachelor of Mining Engineering and Bachelor of Science (Geoscience), University of Adelaide

EEF PhD Scholarship

  • Ayesha Ahmed, University of Tasmania (from 2017)
  • Casey Blundell, Monash University (from 2017)
  • Karin Fogarty, University of Western Australia (from 2018)
  • Stuart Nicol, University of Queensland (from 2016)
Previous Sir Frank Espie/Rio Tinto Leadership Award Winners.

If you have any further queries, please use the feedback form.

ausimm EEF Program

2017 EEF Premium Scholarship winners at the KCGM Fimiston Processing Plant with Senior Project Metallurgist Chris Gianatti, during their field trip to Kalgoorlie and the Pilbara in Western Australia.